West Africa -Golf of Guinea States - Nigeria, Togo, Benin, Ghana, Ivory Coast and Cameroon

westafrikaIn 2016, I participated in a one-month Maritime Safety Evaluation Mission in the West African states of Nigeria, Benin, Togo, Ghana and Ivory Coast of the Gulf of Guinea, which was mandated to create a project definition. The Mission also visited the ICC International Co-ordination Centre in Cameroon in Yaoundé, in charge of the whole Gulf area and in Douala the MRDC Coordination Unit for Zone D, which is the only area to have its own permanent operational units in Malabo represents, a prototype to other coordination centres. The actual project area, however, were the first named 5 states. I was responsible for the IT and communication technology in this project.

In particular, the coast of Nigeria is a major focus of international piracy, with approximately 80% of the security incidents recorded in 2015 in Nigeria's national and international waters in face of the country.

gogThe adjacent map shows the zone classification of the Gulf of Guinea and the states assigned to these zones. The zones correspond to the states between ECOWAS and ECCAS. Each of these zones has a headquarter (MRCC) - mostly manned by naval and police officers who are supposed to coordinate international affairs and information manually. A central clearing office is located in Yaoundé - Cameroon (ICC), but was not activated at the time of the visit - only the infrastructure was partially available.

The Zone E and the states Ghana and the Ivory Coast - belonging to Zone F - were included in the project. In these states, the executive offices and responsible persons of all involved institutions and selected enterprises were visited. These were beside the respective navies the following:


  • TogoNational Security Adviser
  • National Security Advisory Service
  • National Security Agency (SSS)
  • Economic and Financial Crime Commission - EFCC
  • Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency - NIMASA
  • Domestic Waterways Authority in the Ministry of Transport - NIWA
  • Port Authority Lagos
  • Federal Court of Appeal
  • Federal High Court
  • Ministry of Justice - DPPF
  • ENI Nigeria
  • Bourbon Interoil Nigeria
  • Julius Berger


  • National Customs Service
  • ICC
  • MRCC Douala


  • Procureur de la Republique
  • Ministère des Affaires étrangères
  • Gendarmerie Maritime
  • Gendarmerie
  • MCC Zone E
  • Parquet de Abomey Calavi
  • Parquet de Allada
  • Parquet de Cotonou
  • Parquet de Porto Novo
  • TPI Ouidah


  • Haut Conseil pour la Mer -Juriste
  • Préfecture Maritime
  • Ministry of Agriculture
  • Ministère Infrastructures and Transport
  • Port Authority Lomé
  • TPI Lomé
  • Ministry of Justice
  • Tribunal de Lomé

  • BACO Sarlu
  • Expertise Maritime
  • DAME
  • Expertise France


  • Comité Interministeriel de Budget en Mar
  • Narcotics Control Board Ghana
  • Regional Maritime University
  • MTISC - today within IMO


  • Presidence de la Republique
  • Réunion du Conseil National de Sécurité - CNS
  • Cabinet Civil et Militaire
  • Ministry of Transport
  • Port Abidjan
  • L'Institut de Sécurité Maritime Interregional - ISMI - ARSTM
  • Petro C2G

In addition to these national departments and companies, the following international institutions have been involved:

  • EU delegations in the visited countries
  • CIMIC - Comms Control
  • Institute for Security Studies

In accordance with national bilateral projects, the following messages were visited:

  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Turkey
  • UK
    • British High Commission
  • USA





Dr. Holger Frommert


Phone: ++49-39932-195-60